Power of Exposure

So recently I made a post about Transmedia and persona Cherylyn Barnes which you can check out here!

The night of the post I tweeted the link to Cherylyn Barnes  and fan girled so hard upon the fact that she not only retweeted me but followed me too! I also received a thank you message from her too which was more than I would’ve expected. Out of disbelief I even screenshot it because “it’s not real without screenshot evidence”.

Obviously this took a bit of recovery after comprehending this significant moment of discovery. I gave it a night to sink in and the next day I logged onto wordpress like usual to get crackin’ with some uni work. I decided to read over my transmedia post once more. I scrolled to the bottom of the post, and I nearly choked on my toast when I saw this:

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 4.14.32 pm

How could this be?! I went on to the My Site part of wordpress and checked the stats. Previously, I usually had a pretty even average amount of viewers with a few spikes here or there. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw this!

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 4.17.16 pm

Screen Shot 2015-05-15 at 4.18.47 pm

Holy Crap! If this isn’t enough to show the power of social media, then man, I don’t know what could! And the fact that I even had a viewer from Denmark and Japan blew my mind. People from all the way across the world, who have absolutely no idea who I am, have taken time out of their day to read a small town university student’s blog. What a way to boost up my blog and branch out my online persona.

I was still curious about the number number of views from Facebook. Out of curiousity I hopped onto Cherylyn’s fan page and there it was. She had posted the link to her Facebook page and there was all these likes and comments #neverforget .

I will never forget this day from my growing wordpress career. Thank you so much Cherylyn for all of the exposure to my blog post. Your simplistic structure and confidence also encouraged me to start a Youtube channel too. So thank you again!

Leave a Reply

