Preliminary Project Proposal

Constructing a digital story telling project

Reading and reflecting upon Nick Couldry’s journal article Constructing a digital storycircle: digital infrastructure and mutual recognition opened my eyes to the opportunities and boundaries of constructing a digital story telling project. This is not the first time that I’ve had to make a digital story telling project before. For a previous subject I’ve taken, MEDA201I created a work that focussed on story telling via imagery of a coastal location. We were each assigned a certain location in the Fairymeadow area and had to generate a narrative through photos.This task emphasised the imminent relationship between a locality and narratives. To see the digital story telling project that I produced, called Shore Thoughts, please watch below:

For our final BCM240 project, I am willing to develop this initial project for MEDA201 and follow the same principle of the relationship between narrative and space. However, there is a difference in tasks – instead of making up any random narrative, I must produce a narrative that looks at media audience practices from the perspective of a specific person and/or place. In order to successfully display this I’ve brainstormed a few ideas to reach this specific criteria element.

What do you want to know more about?


Who will your collaborators be? 

This is a good question – I’m not too sure so far. However, I do have some ideas in mind. These include:

  • Depending on whether I require a model for photographic shots, I will need permission to take their photo for the story telling project. The collaboration of someones image could potentially be crucial to the narrative I develop.
  • Perhaps I could create a project where I use an array of peoples photos – this would involve curating a bunch of other photos to effectively tell a story.
  • Crowd sourced photography? An idea to dwell on…

What kinds of digital platforms might help you explore and present what you find?

There are several platforms that I can work with to create my project. One that I am most fond of includes Final Cut Pro. This software is what I used to edit the photos in Shore Thoughts. I really admired the aesthetic in my short story telling film and this is something I’d like to develop in for this task. Other functions and digital platforms I will consider include:

  • Expanding my digital literacy skills.
  • Adopting specific camera shots, angles, effects and lenses to capture my aim and vision for this task.
  • Advancing my processes in production.
  • Considering digital tracking methods to count exposure of my narrative, as well as the audiences responses. Vimeo will provide this function although should I consider another platform to do so? Such as Youtube or WordPress?
  • Should I incorporate the use of vocal narration or subtitles again? Is this a limitation or opportunity in the task? Something to find out…

 

References:

Clark, W, Couldry, N, DIckens, L, Fotopoulo, A, MacDonald, R, Stephansen, H 2014, ‘Constructing a digital storycircle: digital infrastructure and mutual recognition’, International Journal of Cultural Studies, vol. 18, no. 5, viewed 8 September 2016, < http://eprints.lse.ac.uk/54412/1/Couldry_Constructing-a-digital-storycircle_2014.pdf > .

 

Ormsby, S 2014, Books on shelves, image, Media Files, viewed 8 September 2016, < http://www.mediafactory.org.au/sarah-ormsby/files/2014/10/ereader-library-15vcd1q.jpg > .

 

 

 

 

One Reply to “Preliminary Project Proposal”

Leave a Reply

